Biden Reveals Location of Secret Bunker

Biden Reveals Location of Secret VP Bunker

Vice President Joe Biden, well-known for his verbal gaffes, may have finally outdone himself, divulging potentially classified information meant to save the life of a sitting vice president.

According to a report, while recently attending the Gridiron Club dinner in Washington, an annual event where powerful politicians and media elite get a chance to cozy up to one another, Biden told his dinnermates about the existence of a secret bunker under the old U.S. Naval Observatory, which is now the home of the vice president.

The bunker is believed to be the secure, undisclosed location former Vice President Dick Cheney remained under protection in secret after the 9/11 attacks.

The revelation is the latest from Biden, who has a long history of political blunders.

Most recently, he said in a televised interview that if a family member asked him about traveling he’d advise staying away from public transportation or confined spaces to avoid swine flu — a remark described as “borderline fearmongering” by an airline spokesman.

Remember how the left wanted to hang Bushco for “outing” that CIA agent? Will this be the same left that will call for Biden’s head?

Don’t hold your breath.

We all know that outing a secret agent is far more important than revealing an underground bunker meant to save the life of the Veep. Right? Veeps rank below CIA agents. I’m sure the left agrees with that statement.

What about you?

11 Responses to Biden Reveals Location of Secret Bunker

  1. Adam says:

    We all know that outing a secret agent is far more important than revealing an underground bunker meant to save the life of the Veep. Right? Veeps rank below CIA agents. I’m sure the left agrees with that statement.

    Weeeelll.. There’s a few differences here:

    1) The outing from the Bush administration was done on purpose to harm political opponents, whereas Biden has a long history of inadvertently opening his mouth and inserting a foot.

    2) After Biden inserts his foot, the location of the secret bunker can be changed. Right now that change is easy since we aren’t in a crisis that requires members of the Obama administration hiding. I’d bet we all knew where the secret bunker was a day after Biden’s gaffe, but we don’t now.

    3) This doesn’t compare to the contacts and connections which Valarie Plame developed that were put in danger and/or permanently damaged when the Bush administration intentionally outed her as a CIA agent.

    So I don’t see how the Biden and Plame situations can be compared.

  2. frznagn says:

    Ok then…

    1) Good point if it were true.

    2) Sure, the location can be changed but at what price? Surely the millions spent on this mean something to you? And if he has such loose lips, then any new location or secret can suffer the same consequences just as easy.

    3) I disagree. Contacts and connections can be changed. Just like locations of secret bunkers. It’s only temporary.

    But you seem to be operating on a “Bush was worse so anything ObamaCo does, doesn’t matter.” Can’t you at least focus on what Biden did and the consequences? Or is your only comeback to distract by pointing somewhere else?

    Weak, very weak.

  3. darwin says:

    The left is still saying the Bush administration “outed” Plame? The media is powerful indeed. Even more powerful is the left’s desire to ignore the truth.

    Richard Armitage “outed” Valerie Plame, not anyone in the Bush administration … and he let the ruse go on and on and on. She was not covert either.

  4. frznagn says:

    The truth isn’t important to them, you know that! All they can do is repeat lies until they believe them.

    Anyways, whaddya think of my pics? If you go to Webshots and search my name you can get better quality ones there.

  5. Adam says:

    Ahem. I think I’ve established myself as perfectly willing to go after Obama when necessary, too. I simply don’t see where these two situations are similar.

    1) If it’s not true, then why was Plame’s name mentioned? Darwin claims that this was Richard Armitage’s doing, but in Robert Novak’s column that touched off this firestorm he claims “two senior administration officials.” I don’t believe he has ever backed off that claim.

    2) Should Biden pay back the costs or something? I mean, unfortunately with Vice President/Chief of Gagging on his own foot Biden, shit happens. The guy goofed. Do you want an apology or groveling or what? I’m not sure what else can be done here.

    3) You kinda can’t disagree here. When a secret agent’s cover is blown, the contacts are destroyed.. Period. That’s the whole point of cover being blown. 🙂

  6. frznagn says:

    1) Key words are “he claims”. Think about it. It’s funny how everybody is quick to believe anything bad about Bush but Dems seem to want higher standards applied to them. High standards, or low? Take your pick but be consistent.

    2) “The guy goofed. Do you want an apology or groveling or what?” Ok, lets say that “Bush goofed” by going into Iraq. What do the libs want? His head on a pike. Right? Again, pick your standards. Seems to me a Dem makes a ‘goof’ and it’s no big deal but let a Rep do it and they want heads on a pike. And don’t give me any bs about ‘Bush lied, people died’. It goes beyond Bush. For example: http://whitenoiseinsanity.com/2009/05/22/shorter-dick-cheney-i-am-not-a-war-criminal-and-americans-have-always-valued-torture-in-our-everyday-lives/

    “Is it just me or does anyone else feel like using our American values by clubbing Dickey and his daughter Liz to the brink of death and then waterboarding them once they come to?”

    Wow, just drag the innocent daughter into this, eh? So much for the ‘tolerant’ party.

    3) And there is no way to get a desk job after a cover is blown? No way to get transferred to another area or agency? Having a cover blown doesn’t necessarily mean the agent is worthless. It’s the government, they have places they can put people. And I’ll bet it’s easier and cheaper to move a person than a high-security, high-tech, classified bunker. Go ahead, tell me I’m wrong.

  7. Adam says:

    1) Generally, journalists try to get their facts correct from multiple sources since it’s sloppy to run with one source without independent confirmation from another. Novak’s bread money is won through trust he receives from Republican politicians, and I doubt he’s going to break that trust by lying in a column he, ironically enough, is writing to defend them. Novak has access and he wants to keep it that way. So that explains the standard of honesty that I hold Novak to.

    2) How many hits a day does White Noise Insanity get, 100? If that? They don’t speak for the left as a whole. When I criticize the right as a whole for something Rush Limbaugh, Dick Cheney, or Michael Savage says, the justification is that these people have massive followings on the right. Therefore, their views are representations of the right at large — otherwise, why do they have massive followings? But if your example, you cherry picked a blogger from the left with no mass following. You just can’t compare White Noise Insanity to, say, Rush Limbaugh, then use them as an example of the left’s thoughts as a whole and ask me to explain it. I won’t; there’s no need for me to do such since they are not an example of broader leftwing thought.

    As for the argument that “Bush goofed,” the situations aren’t the same. You can’t call Bush marching into Iraq as a “goof” because, A) the Downing Street Memo (which is a valid primary source document, no matter how much Bush defenders hate it) says that “facts and intelligence” were being “fixed around the policy”; B) wwhen a country goes to war, so many people play a role in that decision. Bush’s march towards war with Iraq was a long, deliberate process of, quite frankly, manipulation and outright lies. This is not a “goof”. Biden fucks up and says the wrong thing — this is a “goof”.

    The two situations cannot be equated.

    3) Why should Plame need to switch jobs in the first place, because the government tells her to? How would you like it if somebody disregarded all the hard work you did to get to your position and says, “Hey, you’re fired. Go become a desk jockey somewhere” ? And having her cover blown does mean she’s worthless — at least as far as her covert career goes — because all of those contacts are burned. You complained about the millions it possibly cost the government to cover for Biden’s goof, well how many millions were lost when members of the Bush administration blew Plame’s cover as a public political attack on her husband? How long would it take for a new agent to build new contacts, and how many millions would that cost?

    What the Bush administration did to Plame and Biden’s goof simply aren’t comparable.

  8. frznagn says:

    Ahhh! I get it now! I’m not accustomed to someone on the left with such reasoned arguments, then I look at the name/link and now it makes sense!

    Hey, how ya been?

    1) Good point. But since I have not examined this as well as you I’ll say it’s pointless for me to go further. Too many players, too little facts, lots of finger pointing.

    2) Don’t know but far more than this hole-in-the-wall. But she does attract quite a few that agree with her. Sure, nothing like Rush, but Rush doesn’t speak for me either. I’ve never understood why he has such a massive following. I do like Sean though. I’ve seen him give a whole segment to someone he disagrees with to let them make their case and amazingly enough, they fail. Yes, he does cut people off quite a bit and it can be annoying, but those he cuts off can be quite annoying as well. Goes both ways. But there are many on the left that calls for BushCo to be punished in some way or another. You can’t deny that. Ok, let’s say Bush wanted the war and fixed the data. Fine. It’s still the same. He made a mistake to go to war with Iraq. Sure, it’s more determined then a slip of the lip but still a bad decision. And if you recall, I did not want us to go into Iraq.

    3) Plame shouldn’t have to switch jobs and we shouldn’t have to make a new secret bunker.

    “How would you like it if somebody disregarded all the hard work you did to get to your position and says, “Hey, you’re fired. Go become a desk jockey somewhere” ?” Been there, done that. I was in the Air Force (Government).

    They are comparable. Just vastly different. But at the rate Biden keeps slipping up, when will it be comparable? Obama made a mistake in picking Biden. All he was doing was trying to get a McCain clone to counter the ‘lack of experience’ complaint. Talk about your playing politics. Biden was picked to help save Obama’s behind. This is politics, and this crap is done by both sides. I’m not that biased to where I can’t see that. But those drones over at White Noise can’t see the bad that happens in their own party. Their own party gets an obligatory free pass on everything. BOTH sides need to hold ALL politicians accountable for their misdeeds. Period!

    Oh, and whaddya think of my pics? One of these days I’ll actually make some money off of them.

  9. Adam says:

    I’m going to preface this comment with “I’m drunk right now.” The fact that I goto blogs while drunk should say something about me. Something bad, probably. I’ll also be a bit more honest though, I imagine. Heh.

    I thought the pictures were outstanding. They make me jealous because I couldn’t get the same shots if I was using the same lens. A friend of mine, who lives in Arizona, takes photos of nature out there and set up a website on asty.com to sell them. I’m not sure how much of a profit he makes, but it’s something to think about at the very least.

    I see I took you by surprise, too. Heh. It’s inbetween semesters for me, so I can actually visit blogs again. That won’t last, unfortunately, because I’ve decided to do a research paper (comparable to a small master’s thesis) this summer. 60-70 pages or something. That’s before going to Cairo in the fall for an Arabic immersion program at the American University of Cairo. If I cared solely about getting my Bachelor’s, I could have taken a couple bullshit courses this summer and graduated… But I like making things difficult.

    Anyways…

    1) Novak apparently thought that Karl Rove gave him confirmation of Armitage’s statements. In essence, looking at the facts revealed the commenter darwin could claim being correct in this case. And who would I be to complain since he’s not a creationist? ;> But, I mean… Why did a member of the Bush administration (Armitage was second to Colin Powell in 2003) release Plame’s info? Was it a mistake on his part and could this be a leftist witch-hunt? Possibly, but this witch-hurt is certainly aided by the Bush adminstration hiding everything they could about this case — which seems incredibly fishy to me.

    2) I just checked White Noise Inanity, and one of her counters said that she got 78 hits that day. Which means, it one point in time, I would have been more representative of the left than her. And I think we both know just how much people like Atrios paid attention to me. Heh.

    Truth be told, concerning the biggest personalities on the right, I do feel bad pigeonholing all of the right. For example, in my latest post I use conservative talkshow host Mancow as an example o the right. Possibly this is unfair, but… Given the popularity of these hosts, it’s also far to say that they have a large following coming from the right side of the political fence. I mean, contrasting this to the left, Paul Krugman, Paul Bagela, and even Matt Taibbi aren’t emitting the same violence that people like Mancow and Hannity spew. Maybe White Noise Insanity does, but she’s hardly paid attention to. That’s like picking me out and saying that I’m representative of the left as a whole, to which I’d reply “Uhm.. Have you read me before?”

    3) Obama made a mistake in picking Biden. All he was doing was trying to get a McCain clone to counter the ‘lack of experience’ complaint. Talk about your playing politics.

    I think a ton more politics were played in McCain’s decision to pick Palin as his running mate. Just saying. 🙂

    Was picking Biden a mistake? It’s easy to say yes in retrospect, but at the time Biden was s respected foreign policy expert and long time member of the Senate who, occasionally, stuck his foot in his mouth about lesser matters. To my recollection, before the 2008 election, Biden had never said anything that jepordized (sp) national security — so there’s really not past experience to judge Biden’s comments from. There’s really nothing to indicate just how much Biden how shoot his mouth off.

    BOTH sides need to hold ALL politicians accountable for their misdeeds. Period!

    Agreed. When I pay attention (which I hate to admit, but can be rare these days), this is what I try doing.

  10. Adam says:

    (the website where my friend seels his photoggraphy is esty.com, rather)

  11. frznagn says:

    Thanks for the compliment on the pics. I’m on webshots to get more exposure, sorry- bad pun intended. I would set up a dedicated site to my pics but I have no idea what to charge and I’d probably just be throwing more money down the tube.

    As for McCain picking Palin, I’m sure it was a calculated political move too. Isn’t that what happens when the stakes are high? The thing is, Palin is much better than Biden. Sure, she had a few missteps but the media was out to get her. Very few people could have handled the pressure they put on her. There have been lots of “ethical” complaints against her, but from what I’ve seen- nothing sticks. It’s as if there were a coordinated effort to make her look bad and to get her out of politics. It’s pathetic the levels these people go to to ruin a good person. I’m not a Palinbot but I do like her.

    I don’t like the politics of destruction. As you may have noticed, I’ve backed off of Obama quite a bit since the election. I’d like him to see him fix our problems, but I think he’s just making it worse. We on the right have said he’d spend our way out of it and that was dismissed as fear mongering. Guess what? He’s doing as we said he’d do. Fear mongering? Lets get realistic here!

    I could go on and on but I don’t care for much of what he has been doing. Sure, he’s working hard but you can work real hard cutting down a tree with a spoon but what does that mean? We need someone to work smart as well. The problem might be more along the lines of who’s pulling the strings on Obama.

    Here’s a good site to visit: http://www.floppingaces.net/

Leave a Reply

