The ‘Sicko’ Himself

Interview with Michael Moore on CNN

Watch the video and guess what you won’t see… yup , a classy filmmaker. What you will see is a loudmouth who gets pissed if he doesn’t get what he wants. Someone told me that he is fair and welcomes opposing points of view. After watching this I must disagree. He is definitely very biased.

Some highlights:

WB: Could you give us some highlights.

MM: I don’t talk in sound bites.

Classy. 

—–

MM: That report was so biased… why don’t you tell the truth…

Right. Only MM is unbiased and tells the truth.

—–

MM:  (tirade)….you fudge the facts for I don’t know how long about this issue, the war…and when are you going to stand there and apologize…for not bringing the truth to them from some major corporation….

I like WB’s comment– ..we have commercials, this is a business.

Something wrong with corporations? Most of the things you buy are made by some corporation, right?

MM:  …I’m going to put up on my website how his facts are wrong…

Only MM’s facts are right? 

MM: …I’m going to put the real facts up there…

WB: When we get that confirmed obviously we’ll correct the record…

MM:  Oh you will? Good.

Did you catch the tone in that? Wolf tries explaining how good the Dr. is and look at MM shaking his head. The body language says ‘you’re full of shit’. You call this fair? He can take opposing points of views? Bullfuckingshit! Then MM complains about not being on the show for three years (implying CNN’s fault) and Wolf explains that they’ve invited him on and he’s rejected them. And MM says ‘really? And you’ve wanted to apologize?’ What a fucking jerk! 

WB: Which of the Presidential candidates out there do you think would do the best job fixing the nations’ health care system?

MM:  Well, the Democrats have to be asked some very specific questions….and I’d like to hear what these other Democratic candidates have to say….

Not one word about Republicans or anything. And he’s fair? Where does he hide it? Yes, Wolf does state he’s very bipartisan in his criticism in the movie.

MM: …Universal Health Care that’s free…

Um, excuse me? Nothing is ‘free’. Somebody has to pay the bill and it’s Mr. and Mrs. Taxpayer. Hello? Take another course in Economics dude!

MM: …ask a doctor if they’d rather have a medicare patient or someone who’s got a lousy HMO. Cause they at least know at least medicare will pay, the government will send them a check and not have to fight an hour on the phone just to get a 15 dollar office visit paid for…

$15 dollar office visit? Where the hell do you find them at?  I think it’s been years since I’ve seen anything under $50! And no, the government doesn’t always pay for the claims! I worked in the health care industry up here and I know that for a fact! And many times when they ‘pay’, it’s not for the full amount. Health care is expensive up here and many payments for  services get rejected because they were too costly. I’ve even seen one section of the business shut down due to the costs. If I recall correctly, the payments didn’t even cover the costs. How are you supposed to run a business like this?

But I will give him some credit. He does sound passionate and may actually even care about this but he’s so pompous and such a jerk that he makes it hard to watch. 

6 Responses to The ‘Sicko’ Himself

  1. tas says:

    So where’s the report CNN ran before Moore came on the air? I think that would complete the story, since there was obviously something (if not a few things) in that report whick ticked Michael off. And it’s downright unfair to play a clip of Moore yelling at CNN without showing the reason why, because I want to know if his attitude is justified.

    And as far as I’m concerned, in response to what Moore said about the media and it’s reaction to F-9/11, and then looking at Iraq three years afterward, he has every right in the world for his blood to be boiling. The media didn’t do its job, and for Wolf Blitzer to stand there and claim that one of their journalists did great work when none of their journalists so much as bothered to question the Bush administration on their rationale to choosing to goto war with a country that posed no threat to us, it’s just preposturous beyond belief. Wiltzer and the rest of CNN deserve a good fucking spanking, and I’m glad that Moore has appeared to have given them one.

    I can’t understand why you criticize a man for being angry. Has everyone who’s criticized liberals for being angry never lost it once in their lives? Never been angry, never raised their voice, not just once? If they haven’t, then I’m honestly scared about whether or not they’re human.

    In short, tell the whole story — not half of it — and combat Moore on his points, not on his demeanor. Those who choose to battle Moore via character assassination should be ashamed of themselves, and ignored.

  2. frznagn says:

    “I want to know if his attitude is justified.”

    While it might be nice to see the whole picture, it isn’t that important. All you have to do is watch his attitude and comments then look at how Wolf is behaving. There is no need to go off on him like that. Wait, did you say ‘unfair’? Isn’t that word reserved for Faux News?

    I checked DailyKos, they didn’t say anything bad about the hit job on MM. You think Faux News would get that kind of break? Hell no! So basically, CNN can use these tactics and they get a free pass. I just love how fair they are.

    “The media didn’t do its job… ”

    I disagree. I heard plenty of people talk about how it would be full of problems if we invaded Iraq. Then again, I was watching FoxNews at the time. Maybe you were on the wrong channel?

    “I can’t understand why you criticize a man for being angry.”

    I didn’t criticize him for being angry. I’ve been quite well pissed off but I’ve always maintained my cool. It must be from all that discipline the military taught me. There’s a difference between being angry and being disrespectful.

    “In short, tell the whole story — not half of it — and combat Moore on his points, not on his demeanor. Those who choose to battle Moore via character assassination should be ashamed of themselves, and ignored.”

    Well, if the whole story was there to tell then it would be easy. Since I don’t have a time machine to go back and record it then I’m stuck. Can’t help that! And I did comment on his points. Try reading that again. I commented quite well on his $15 office visits, did I not? And commenting about demeanor is valid on tv. If it were text transcribed from an interview then it may not be fair. Not everything translates well into text. Watching someones gestures, body language and movements can give extra information which is fair to judge. And as for the “character assassination”, ha! Let me quote from Wikipedia:
    “By its nature, it involves deliberate exaggeration or manipulation of facts to present an untrue picture of the targeted person.” “In practice, character assassination usually consists of the spreading of rumors and deliberate misinformation on topics relating to one’s morals, integrity, and reputation.”
    I did not deliberately exaggerate or manipulate anything. And I did not portray an untrue picture of him. I saw, I typed. I spread no rumors or give any misinformation. I did not attack his morals, integrity or reputation. So therefore, you are wrong and I have nothing to be ashamed of nor any reason to be ignored for.

    Nice try though.

  3. tas says:

    I did not deliberately exaggerate or manipulate anything. And I did not portray an untrue picture of him. … yadda yadda.

    What you didn’t do, as I mentioned early, is tell the full story.

    For example, if you had video of me screaming my head off and linked to it saying that I was real classy for losing my temper, but neglected to mention the reason why I lost my temper, then you are only telling half the story. You have not mentioned reasons for why I’m in a foul mood. That, in effect, is manipulation of a story and an untrue portrayal because you have not adhered to the five W’s — who, what, where, when, and WHY.

    Now had you linked, or at least mentioned, the full story, then this wouldn’t be considered character assassination because at least you mentioned everything, then your opinion. But as is, you post is character assassination because I read about how Michael Moore just came onto the air at CNN angry, which left me with the impression that CNN did nothing to prompt this mood. But, within the first few seconds of viewingg the video, I find out that CNN did something to push Michael. That’s the WHY. What exactly was this? I’m not sure, because you don’t detail that in your post.

    And that fits the definition of character assassination.

  4. frznagn says:

    “What you didn’t do, as I mentioned early, is tell the full story.”

    Like I said, I used what information I had. Besides, MM does say what happened so it doesn’t help any to show it. The only thing you can get from it is how bad the ‘facts’ were. And it really doesn’t matter. If you listen to him, it’s more of the point that they did the same thing with F-9/11. This is just a repeat of that event. How bad it made MM look is irrelevant. What does matter is how MM behaved: Classless.
    Just look at Chris Rock at Wembley: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTMFHWEgwYE
    He sure makes us Americans look bad with that kind of language. Was there any call for that? Remember Rosie singing the National Anthem? Just because someone boos you or puts up something that offends you, it doesn’t mean you can act in any manner you choose. Show some class. Is that too much to ask?

    And there is no manipulation on my part. I linked to the source and no information was deleted. I picked out a selection of lines that I felt like responding to. But you still can watch the whole thing. It is clear what happened prior to the video, just not how bad it was. Watch it again in case you missed it.

    “Now had you linked, or at least mentioned, the full story, ”

    Excuse me? I linked. And there really wasn’t much of a story. One paragraph below the video. No need to quote such a small piece. Besides, they made a big deal on Drudge and here as well about MM mispronouncing the guys name. I felt that that point was more minor compared to what else was said.

    “I read about how Michael Moore just came onto the air at CNN angry, which left me with the impression that CNN did nothing to prompt this mood.”

    Where did you read that? I said “What you will see is a loudmouth who gets pissed if he doesn’t get what he wants. ” This ‘pissed’ is not just what you see at the beginning, it’s what you see throughout the video. He gets plenty pissed about CNN not apologizing for the F-9/11 treatment. What they did now doesn’t change how pissed he was beforehand and how he pissed he is about the issues he brings up. Like the war…. Face it, the guy needs some anger management. I never implied that CNN did nothing to anger him. Just look at the first quote ‘I don’t do sound bites’. Was that really called for? I think not.

    “I’m not sure, because you don’t detail that in your post.”

    Ok, I don’t DETAIL it, but I did mention it in the second quote: “MM: That report was so biased… why don’t you tell the truth…” Now, does that look like I’m hiding it? NOPE! And this is why there is a link- so you can watch the video and see for yourself. I’m not going to get carpal tunnel from transcribing the whole thing. I don’t see you doing it, so why do I have to?

    I link, quote, and toss in opinions and facts. Nothing wrong with that. MM acts like someone you’d see on the Jerry Springer Show. I was NOT impressed with his childish behavior. I used to watch Wolf on CNN a lot during the first Gulf War. He did a good job if I recall correctly. But look at the difference in behavior between the two. Wolf did an excellent job at keeping his cool. I don’t believe O’Reilly or many of the others you despise would have been so kind.

    Sorry, but you have no case here.

  5. tas says:

    No, I do have a case and I’ve spelled it out very well. But this comment thread is apparently going to go nowhere.

  6. frznagn says:

    Hey, we have different opinions, nothing wrong with that. You worship MM and I think he’s classless. S’ok.

    I do appreciate your comments. I need somebody to keep me on my toes!

Leave a Reply

